Recipe: easy oaty cookies

Hey lovelies,

Hope you are all having a lovely summer and have been enjoying the sunshine! I’m sorry that this post is a couple of days late, I got back from Newday festival on Sunday (which was amazing, I had such a great time!!) but I have been really tired since haha.

Today I thought I would share with you guys one of my go-to recipes for birthdays, picnics, or whenever I have time to bake. These cookies are so quick and simple to make but taste so yummy! I hope you enjoy 🙂

1.) Preheat the oven to 180 degrees centigrade // 160 degrees centigrade fan oven // gas mark 4

img_6327

2.) Weigh 75g of porridge oats and pour them into a large mixing bowl.

 

img_6331

3.) Weigh 175g of self raising flour and add it to the large mixing bowl

 

img_6332

4.) Weigh 175g of granulated sugar (I used demerara as it makes them more caramelly – but granulated works just as well) and add it to the mixing bowl.

 

fullsizerender

5.) Add 1 teaspoon of baking powder and then 1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda to the mixing bowl.

 

img_6336

6.) Weigh 175g of butter into a small saucepan

 

img_6338

7.) Measure 2 tablespoons of golden syrup into the saucepan

 

fullsizerender 2

8.) Heat the butter and golden syrup on the hob until the butter is fully melted.

 

img_6344

 

9.) Pour the butter and golden syrup from the saucepan into the mixing bowl.

 

img_6345

10.) Mix it all together until it looks something like this!

 

img_6346

10.) Squidge the mixture into small balls and place them on a lined baking tray.

 

fullsizerender 3

11.) Bake in the oven for 12-15 minutes until they are golden brown. Once out of the oven, leave them to cool for a few minutes and then pop them onto a metal cooling rack.

 

12.) Ta-dah!

 

Over to you…

What did you think of this post? Have you done anything nice this summer? What is your favourite thing to bake? Send me a link to a similar recipe post! [Let me know in the comments]

I am leaving for holiday at 2am tomorrow morning and I’m not taking my phone so won’t be able to reply to any comments or write any new posts from then on, sorry! I’m looking forward to chatting to you all when I get back.

Lots of love,

Graciellen xxx

One thought on “Recipe: easy oaty cookies

Leave a Reply

