Seizing opportunities and the edge of my comfort zone

img_8877Hello lovelies!

Recently I was asked to be a part of a puppet show that my church puts on every year around Christmas. I’ve been to watch it for long enough to know that this is no ordinary puppet show, but an all-singing-all-dancing 1.5 hour long production, performed to almost 1500 people and involving months of rehearsal and several damaged backs or knees. The thought of puppeteering in something which I had grown up with and been so in awe of the people who did it quite frankly terrified me, and I was this close *indicates a small closeness between my fingers* to saying no.

I knew there were so many other people who would be much better than me, and I thought it just wasn’t the kind of thing I do. I’m just not the kind of person who puts themselves out there and does things! I’m the kind of person who would sit quite comfortably at the back and enjoy the show. All in all, it was just something outside of my comfort zone, and normally that means I find some excuse not to do it and instead stay at home with a book and my onesie.

However, in the end they were quite low on people, so I agreed that I would do it, although I honestly didn’t want to. On the way to the first rehearsal I had a sudden panic and was about to ask my dad if we could go back home, but in the end I pushed myself through and went. I decided that I was going to do this whether I liked it or not, and that (as well as my encouraging Dad and sister who were also involved and the promise of chocolate) was what stopped me from running back home to my bed!

As soon as I sat down and we were busy chatting and highlighting scripts whilst passing around a tub of celebrations my worries disappeared. I realised that I might actually really enjoy this, and that it would be good for me to push myself out of my comfort zone (which seems to be becoming smaller all the time).

The show was an awful lot of work, but I loved every second of it. I discovered the lovely friendships that come from working so hard with a team of other people, the adrenaline that comes just before a performance and the satisfaction that comes when you do something well. Doing this show gave me new confidence, new friendships, new skills and a new way of thinking about things. Next time I’m asked or offered to participate in something, I’m going to (try to!) seize the opportunity with open arms and an open heart.

My main new year’s resolution for 2016 is to try and push myself out there and make the most of all the opportunities I have, because I guess I’m only going to be 15 once.

I’d love to invite all of you to try and push yourself out of your comfort zone at least one time this week, whether that be putting your hand up in class if you don’t normally, talking to someone you’re slightly scared to, joining a new club, starting a new hobby or wearing something that’s not your usual style!

 

Let me know on Twitter or in the comments if you want to join me in this challenge, and I’d love it so much if you had any success stories or felt inspired to write a blog post about this and wanted to tell me!

Lots of love,

Graciellen xx

29 thoughts on “Seizing opportunities and the edge of my comfort zone

  1. Well done! That is such an amazing achievement and that must have completely changed your perspective on things. I find the things I worry about are often the things that go well in the end… mostly 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thanks twin! ❤️ Woo well done, that must have been amazing! You’re also some kind of amazing singy person aren’t you? (brilliant describing there😂) which must be terrifying to sing in front of other people haha! Love you lots ❤️xxxxxx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome! Haha yes, I am a “singy person” though I wouldn’t say amazing 😂 and actually, I’m don’t get too nervous for performing! It was so fun, I made so many new friends, and even learnt a bit of ballroom dancing for one of the numbers! Here’s to getting out of our comfort zones more often. ❤️❤️ xxxxx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Aw haha, I’m sure you are amazing my love! ❤️ and wow, sounds like so much fun! Especially the ballroom dancing 💃💃💃 indeed, here’s to leaving our comfort zone more often! *raises a toast of apple juice* ❤️❤️❤️xx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This was such a fantastic post to read! I’m so happy for you that you pushed yourself to try something that scared you. You really encouraged me to embrace the saying ‘Carpe Diem” — Seize the moment.

    I can relate to your feeling of nerves throughout what you said in this post. Recently I auditioned for a role in my school’s play and I couldn’t have been more scared. I nearly backed out when I came across the scripture Deuteronomy 31:6 ” Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.”

    How wonderful is it knowing that God turns even our most nerve-wracking situations into something so much greater!

    Well done & thank you for sharing this post, it really impacted me.

    Lots of love all the way from South Africa,
    Sarah
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey lovely!
      Wow, thank you so much for such a kind long comment! It totally made my day and the Bible verse came just at a time when I really needed it, thank you so much 🙂 Wow, how did the audition go? That must be really scary haha, don’t think I’m quite that far out of my comfort zone just yet! I’m so glad that you enjoyed this post, it was just something that I really wanted to talk about and hear other people’s opinions on 🙂

      Yes, it is utterly wonderful to have such a good Father who loves us beyond measure and who we know will always be there to help us!

      I’ve just had a look at your blog and it is so so lovely. I have a couple of friends from South Africa (one of them is there at the moment!) and I would absolutely love to go there one day! What is it like? Also, South African accents are SO SWEET, I’d give anything to talk like you probably do haha! Anyways, enough ramblings from me 😂💗

      Lots of love all the way from rainy England,
      Grace xx

      Like

      1. It’s such a pleasure, I love being able to give people great feedback when it’s due, you most defiantly deserve it. ❤️

        Oh my goodness, the audition scared the living daylights out of me, I was shaking like a leaf and felt as if my lungs were closing in one me! However, I think it went well. I can’t really say, I have overthought the situation to death and I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s done, it’s over & whatever happens, happens.

        I was so anxious about auditioning because I suffer with an anxiety disorder which makes it incredibly scary to do almost anything out of my comfort zone. I often just end up having a panic attack if I’m totally honest.

        But at least I tried, I gave it my all and ‘Capre Diem’ed myself through it. 😊

        About my blog, thank you so so so much, being complimented on my blog means so much to me, so thank you, you really made my day. ❤️

        REALLY? Oh my goodness! You’d love South Africa! Especially Cape Town & Johannesburg (where I live), it’s so much fun and there’s so much to do! If you ever do come I’ll gladly be your tour guide. 😊❤️

        Haha! I’ve never thought of my accent as sweet before! However an English accent is the best accent in the world! I have a lot of family that live over there and I just love talking to them on the phone just to hear their voices. 😄

        I just love talking to you! I feel as if I’m catching up with an old friend! ❤️❤️❤️

        You’re the sweetest! xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hey lovely!
        Aww, your comments always feel me up with happiness 😚❤️ thank you for being so kind and lovely!

        Ahh, your audition sounds terrifying! I’m sure you did great though, what was it for? Oh no, having anxiety must be the worst. I have quite a lot of friends who suffer from it and it sounds so horrible 😔 but well done on your carpe dieming, it’s amazing that you still went through the audition! I would have probably just backed out haha, so well done you!! ❤️❤️

        You’re utterly welcome, you seem to put a lot of work into your blog and it’s such a joy to read! You definitely deserve the praise, and much more 💛✨

        Aww, I would literally give anything to come and visit you and have a tour haha! Thank you, if I ever manage to come then I’ll let you know ☺️

        Haha, really?? I find English accents so boring and uninteresting haha!! South African accents are so lovely, idk why but I just love them! 😂

        Talking to you is so nice, and, I agree, just like catching up with an old friend! It’s lovely to find a sister in Christ to talk to ❤️❤️

        Lots of love,
        Grace xxx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi! Oh no, but yay! I’m glad you pushed through your panic attack, because now you might be just a teenty little bit more confident? I hope everything is going okay, and your 2016 is great! The puppeteering sounds amazing, I’m so happy for you! xx :))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thanks so much lovely! Feel like I haven’t chatted to you in ages haha. Yes definitely, in the end it was all worth it and I feel much more confident to do something similar again 🙂 thank you so so much for always being so kind, caring, friendly and supportive 🙂 xxxxx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It is so amazing that you took part in it! It must have been so hard to agree to do it but I’m so happy that you enjoyed it and it was all worth it!
    One of my New Year’s Resolutions is to get out of my comfort zone more and be more confident. This post is really good to help anyone (like me) who needs some inspiration and motivation to do things out of their comfort zone and just go for all the opportunities!
    Lots of love ❤ xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

