Being A Comforter: Part Two ❤️

Hello lovelies!
After writing my original post about being a comforter I’ve been thinking about this a lot more and so decided to write another post on it. Lots of people commented on my last post saying that also felt like they were comforters, and talked about how they felt about this, so I thought it would be nice to chat about it a bit more!
I wrote my first post at a time when I felt a little drained after being constantly asked for help and advice by a couple of close friends, who have been struggling with depression, and I guess I just wanted to write down my feelings and realise that being a comforter and someone people trust isn’t a bad thing at all.

I’ve also came to the same conclusion, that being that comforter is truly an honor. It shows people trust you and respect you and how you live your life enough to come to you when they have trouble of their own.

-The lovely Meg from EmandM commented this on my last post-

In the last few weeks however I’ve been helping and comforting a few other people, and I’ve realised that this is actually something I really enjoy. Its the kind of thing that, most of the time, actually energises me and makes me feel happy, as I see the things I say make people happier.
Maybe even something I’m good at, (although I often feel like what I say makes no sense at all!) as people always respond to any help or advice I give them with thankfulness and joy.

Yup I’m a comforter. But the thing is I don’t really know why because I’m never quite sure what to say.

Dancingteen02 on my last post-

I feel like something a lot of people need is joy. Whether that is just day to day laughter and smiles, or when they’re struggling with something much bigger, like grief or depression. I actually have wooden letters in my bedroom which spell out the word JOY, and I guess its always something I’ve had on my heart, to bring happiness to people who need it.

I would love to be someone who brings comfort and joy to peoples lives, someone that always brings a smile to other people’s faces after talking to me.

I would like people to come to me more and trust me as a kind, helpful person. My aim is not to be the cool girl but to be the kind girl.

-Anonymous on my last post (who sadly doesn’t have a blog yet but hopefully will soon)-

Over To You…

Are you a comforter? What do you think about my thoughts? Is there anything that you are naturally talented at or especially enjoy? What kind of person do you want to be known as? 

Lots of love,

Graciellen xx

PS. Over on the JOYFUL YOUNG HEARTS blog which I co-write we have just started a set of challenges called Spread The Joy, where each week we encourage people to do something (whether that be giving someone a hug, making a friend a cake, or leaving little happy notes for people in random places) which will ultimately spread joy and love. I would love it if we could start being a part of this on my blog too, it is super easy, lots of fun and sure to bring a smile to other people’s faces! You can head over to joyfulyounghearts.wordpress.com for more details if you want to, where we update the SpreadTheJoy page each week with a new challenge.

I will be taking part of this on Twitter and would love it if you all wanted to join in! If you have Twitter you can tweet whatever you are doing for that challenge with the hashtag #JYHspreadthejoy, and if not then you can head over to the Joyful Young Hearts website and comment on the SpreadTheJoy page xxx

7 thoughts on “Being A Comforter: Part Two ❤️

  1. Thank you for mentioning me in your blog post haha xx and I really hope I will have my own blog soon! 🙂
    Recently, whenever someone asks me something to help or smiles at me I feel like I have achieved something big. I feel like people find me approachable and kind. I get so excited if people need my help. I want to get all the chances I can to help people and show them that if they need to talk to someone they can come to me. Also, I do have someone to go to if I need help – God. And I don’t need to have loads of people to go to for help, I have my parents and some friends and like I said God. Everyone should be happy and I’m so happy that I want to help people, it’s a special thing to want to do. I feel like slowly more and more people are getting to know me. And not as a cool girl, but a kind girl 🙂 This makes me super happy.
    You are getting better at writing blog posts every time you post something, you’re such a talented blog writer xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hiya lovely!
      Awh you’re welcome! I thought what you said was really good and inspiring so I thought I would show it off haha (hope that was alright with you?) I’m so excited for you to start your own blog, but don’t feel pressured to set it up or anything, do it when you’ve got time and you feel like you really want to haha.

      Awh go you! That’s so cool that you feel like people are starting to know you as the kind girl, it’s amazing! I would love people to think about me like that and be happy to come to me when they need help 🙂

      Yes that is so true, God is always there for you and never too busy to listen to all your problems or worries! And He can also always help you during those times, He can do anything and loves you so very much ❤️

      I agree, you don’t need millions of people that you can go to for help, I just have probably one good friend and my sister or parents who I go to when I need them!

      Thank you ever so much, that’s so kind and sweet of you 😚xxx

      Like

  2. I was fine with it 🙂 hehe I think it is good because when I start my blog some of your blog readers might say: Oh that’s the one who commented on Graciellen’s post and was mentioned in one of her posts.
    I will tell people that I am ‘anonymous’ when I have a different name so people won’t think I’m someone else. (I don’t know if I made sense just then???)
    I’m so happy that you are excited to for me to start my own blog. It makes me more excited about it haha and I will be happy to know that when I start it there will be at least one person reading it hehe 🙂 It is really nice of you to say to me to not be pressured to set it up. xx I will make sure I have the time to be blogging before I start one.

    Hehe yes I’m so happy even though it is a slow process and not very many people really know me yet but I know that I am gradually being known as someone kind so I’m really happy. I don’t want to just go to people when they need help, I want people to come to me when they need help and know that I’m there to help them. Even if it takes more than a year for people to know me as that kind of person properly, I still want to be known as someone kind. 🙂

    xx Lots of love 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi,
    I have never heard the word “comforter”, but I really like it.
    I am Janice. I met you in the Community Pool. You indicated you wanted feedback on your site. Your site makes me feel good, and I’ve only been here a minute. That is a huge compliment.
    You said you would return the favor and check out my blog. I offer blogging suggestions. Tips for engaging readers, improving content, and increasing traffic are waiting for you at my site. I also offer free incentives for signing up and regular networking opportunities. Here is my link to my About page, so you can read more about my blog.
    http://wp.me/P6x6vQ-89
    Nice to meet you.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

