Making a Difference


Hello everyone!
Today I’m going to be writing about something that God has really spoke to me about over the past few weeks! I hope it speaks to you too 😊

Last week I was watching a program with my dad about people around the world in poverty, and it really upset me. It made me realise that there are so many terrible things around the world going on, and I can’t make a difference. It made me realise that I live in such luxury, have everything I need and never even have to worry about walking for miles to get to clean water, I simply turn on a tap and there it is! It made me realise that there are too many problems around the world, and they can never all be fixed, that there is nothing I can do to make a difference. When I was telling my dad this, he reminded me of the story of the starfish thrower. 

A young girl was walking along a beach upon which thousands of starfish had been washed up during a terrible storm. When she came to each starfish, she would pick it up, and throw it back into the ocean. People watched her with amusement.
She had been doing this for some time when a man approached her and said, “Little girl, why are you doing this? Look at this beach! You can’t save all these starfish. You can’t begin to make a difference!”
The girl bent down, picked up another starfish, and hurled it as far as she could into the ocean. Then she looked up at the man and replied, “Well, I made a difference to that one!
— Adapted from The Star Thrower
by Loren C. Eiseley

I love this story so much, as it’s a great reminder of how even though we cannot possibly change the whole world, we can do something that ‘makes a difference to that one’.  God really spoke to me through this story, and encouraged me to try and make a difference to people, using all the things he has given me. 

I want to encourage you too to try to make a difference to the people around you. Buy a portion of chips to give to the homeless man on the street. Donate a few pounds to a charity, or support a cause you are passionate about. Do a sponsored swim, sell cakes, or busk in town to raise money. Do something that, even if it won’t change everything in the world, will matter to that one. Be the person who saves that one person’s life with the few pounds that you otherwise would have spent on sweets. If you are reading this right now, you have been educated enough to read, most likely have a roof over your head, food for dinner and water from a tap. Millions of people around the world live without any of those luxuries, there is so much we can do with just the things that we take for granted! God has given us all the ability to be generous 😊

You will be enriched in every way to be generous in every way, which through us will produce thanksgiving to God. 
2 Corinthians 9:11

Even if you are young and, like me, feel useless compared to other people, you can still make a difference to that one person, even if you feel like you can’t change the world.

And when people tell you that you can’t possibly stop all the problems in the world, you can  say, Well, I made a difference to that one!”
Lots of love,
Graciellen xx
One thought on “Making a Difference

Leave a Reply

