Man looks on the outside but God looks on the heart

unknown
Hello everyone!
I hope you are all well. If you read my previous post you will know that I have decided to start blogging about my faith in Jesus as well what I talked about before! You can read more about my decision in my last post here:  https://graciellen.wordpress.com/2015/01/20/a-little-update-about-my-blog/
Again, I want to thank everyone who is reading this SO SO much for finding my little blog, and for liking, commenting or following if you have! I really appreciate it 🙂 Please continue to do so if you like what I say 🙂
When I was younger one of our favourite songs as a family was on a Kids worship album we had. It said “Man looks on the outside, but God looks on the heart.” At the time I used to sing away and not really think about what it meant, but those words have always stayed with me. They’re so powerful. This song is from the Bible verse
“People look at the outward appearance,but the Lord looks at the heart.”
1 Samuel 16:7
Something that I personally really struggle with is not bothering too much about how I look or what other people might think of me. This song and Bible verse is a good reminder to me about how really we are all God’s children, and when He sees us he looks past the fashionable clothes or makeup or hairstyles and sees our hearts. The thing that is really beautiful about us.
God thinks every single one of his sons and daughters is beautiful. He made each one of us with love and care, and he loves everything about us! In God we don’t need to hide our real faces or worry about how we look. He loves us just the way we are.
We are God’s works of art.
Someone I once met at a Christian camp had a picture from God. (I have actually met a lot of people, including myself (if it is possible to have met yourself?) who have had pictures from God but this is one example) Their picture was that in His house above His mantelpiece God had a huge framed portrait of me. And of you. Every time God saw that framed picture of me or you or any one of his children He would say “I made him or her, and I am so proud of them.”
I loved that picture, as it made me truly realise how much God loves every one of us. You are so special to God, and He thinks that you are truly beautiful.
So I encourage you to be your own kind of beautiful, God’s kind of beautiful. Be yourself, and don’t spend so much time worrying about yourself that you don’t have room to love other people. Be happy and confident in yourself, knowing that God loves what he sees inside you more than however pretty the world may think you look, and from that place you can give His love to other people.
Don’t cover your heart up by trying to be beautiful, because what God and everyone around you loves the most about you is your real inner beauty.
And even though man often looks on the outside, God always looks on the heart.
Lots of love,
Graciellen xx
PS. Please please comment to show your support, or tell me what you thought of this post 🙂 I would love that very very much 🙂 xxx
2 thoughts on “Man looks on the outside but God looks on the heart

Leave a Reply

